Madden Bowl XV

As Super Bowl XLIII nears, EA Sports and Xbox 360 will be hosting the 15th annual Madden Bowl tomorrow in Tampa. The 8 player tournament is made up of the brightest stars in the NFL today including incoming rookies Matthew Stafford (Georgia) and Mark Sanchez (USC). These two will play one head-to-head game of Madden NFL 09 to see who is the 8th player in the tournament. With Edgerrin James (Arizona Cardinals) and Willie Parker (Pittsburgh Steelers) participating, this is the first time in Madden Bowl history players from each Super Bowl team will be in the tournament. The NFL players will play a single elimination tournament of Madden NFL 09 on Xbox 360 and the last man standing will be awarded the EA Sports Madden Bowl Cup.


Fans at home can even get into the action by winning an opportunity to play one of the many NFL players that will be in attendance. For a chance to play Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens) live on Xbox 360 from the Madden Bowl send a friend request to the Xbox LIVE gamer tag “RLewisGWF” between 8 and 9 PM EST. Below are lists of the players in the tournament as well as the other athletes that will be in attendance. I’m predicting that Matt Stafford from UGA brings home the crown because I think this is the only situation in the NFL where being a rookie might be an advantage. As for the Super Bowl I will have to take the Arizona Cardinals in what is sure to be a great game. (Thanks to Game Press.)     

Madden Bowl Eight-Man Tournament Participants:
• Antonio Bryant – WR, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
• Edgerrin James – RB, Arizona Cardinals
• Maurice Jones-Drew – RB, Jacksonville Jaguars
• Willie Parker – RB, Pittsburgh Steelers
• Justin Tuck – DE, New York Giants
• DeMarcus Ware – LB, Dallas Cowboys
• To be determined
• Mark Sanchez – USC/Matthew Stafford – University of Georgia (Rookie play-in game)

Athletes in Attendance:
• Derrick Brooks – LB, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
• Marshall Faulk – RB, St. Louis Rams & Indianapolis Colts (retired 2006)
• Antonio Gates – TE, San Diego Chargers
• Tony Gonzalez – TE, Kansas City Chiefs
• Steven Jackson – RB, St. Louis Rams
• Chad Johnson – WR, Cincinnati Bengals
• Darren McFadden – RB, Oakland Raiders
• *Willis McGahee – RB, Baltimore Ravens (*last year’s Madden Bowl winner)
• Terrell Owens – WR, Dallas Cowboys
• Reggie Wayne – WR, Indianapolis Colts
• Roddy White – WR, Atlanta Falcons
• Evan Longoria – 3B, Tampa Bay Rays